The Lucksmiths - Why That Doesn't Surprise Me

matcd091  /  January 2022
The Lucksmiths - Why That Doesn't Surprise Me
cd album   $10.00

lp black   $16.00

sold out
lp blue   $20.00

sold out
digital   $8.00

other digital:   Apple Music     Amazon     Spotify

The Lucksmiths - Why That Doesn't Surprise Me

matcd091  /  January 2022

As 2021 stumbles sheepishly to the finish line, we are thrilled to announce the release of a special 20th anniversary vinyl edition of the watershed 2001 album 'Why That Doesn't Surprise Me' (matcd091) from Australian hitmakers The Lucksmiths!

Hear all the classics you know and love, artisanally crafted for you way back when by messrs Donald, White and Monnone (that’s Marty, Tali and Mark to you, friend), spinning gloriously from your record player!

‘Synchronised Sinking’—check; ‘Broken Bones’—check; ‘The Year of Driving Languorously’—check. Yep, this is a good one. You've got 'Music to Hold Hands To’ and ‘Self Preservation’ and ‘The Great Dividing Range’ too. It’s all here on one gorgeous record, handsomely adorned in Alex Jack’s cheeky ‘dragon bum warmer’ cover art.

Why That Doesn’t Surprise Me (their fifth ‘studio’ album) represented a turning point for The Lucksmiths, as the Melbourne band took their humble three-piece set-up into a legit recording studio for the first time and set to work with producer Craig Pilkington on exploring uncharted dynamic and tonal possibilities through the use of extra instrumentation and lush orchestral augmentation.

Indeed, this was to be the first of three albums The Lucksmiths recorded at Pilkington’s Audrey Studios; 2003’s Naturaliste and 2005’s Warmer Corners round out the trifecta which is often regarded as a golden period in Lucksmiths lore.

Amongst the extra instrumentation we can hear Darren Hanlon deftly jangling some joyous lead guitar. A longtime touring companion of The Lucksmiths with his band The Simpletons, Hanlon had just released his first solo EP Early Days when he was invited to lend a hand and effectively became “the fourth Lucksmith”—a role he eventually relinquished to focus purely on his own songwriting, with top-notch results. Also in there, we can hear the sweet vocals of a young pre-Architecture in Helsinki Kellie Sutherland who, as well as lending backing vocals to several songs, sings a show-stopping duet with Tali on the captivating ‘How to Tie a Tie’.

Originally released by iconic indie labels of the day—Candle Records (Australia), Drive-In Records (US), Fortuna Pop! (UK), and Clover Records (Japan), the album has been out of print on vinyl for decades.  To celebrate the platinum anniversary, the album is available on classic black or limited edition turquoise vinyl.

Drop the needle on this charmer—it’s time to fall in love all over again!

Australian customers please note: this is a co-release with the magnificent Lost and Lonesome Recording Company, so please support your local label!

  1. Music To Hold Hands To
  2. Synchronised Sinking
  3. The Great Dividing Range
  4. Beach Boys Medley
  5. Broken Bones
  6. First Cousin
  7. Don't Bring Your Work To Bed
  8. Fear Of Rollercoasters
  9. Harmonicas And Trams
  10. The Forgetting Of Wisdom
  11. Self-Preservation
  12. How To Tie A Tie
  13. All The Recipes I've Ever Ruined
  14. The Year Of Driving Languorously


We don't mean to be judgmental, but if you are here you are likely to be an indie pop fan. And if you are an indie pop fan Australian guitar pop heroes The Lucksmiths are known to you. You probably also know that the group is no longer active. But like all artists that make good music, the band lives on through their songs and Matinée Recordings is giving them extended life via the 20th anniversary release of The Lucksmiths' seminal 2001 album Why That Doesn't Surprise Me. The album was the fifth by the trio of Marty Donald, Tali White, and Mark Monnone, but it marked their first use of a professional studio and producer. The choice not only led to higher production values but also a expanded sonic textures.The release is available in CD and vinyl formats via Matinée Recordings and Lost and Lonesome Recording Company in Australia. —When You Motor Away

Anno nuovo e la mitica Matinée Recordings è pronta a festeggiare i suoi 25 anni di attività. La prima uscita celebrativa sarà una speciale edizione in vinile per il 20° anniversario dell’album del 2001 “Why That Doesn’t Surprise Me” delle leggende australiane The Lucksmiths! L’album esce ufficialmente il 18 gennaio, ma il pre-order del vinile (ma c’è anche l’edizione in CD) è già attivo. “Why That Doesn’t Surprise Me” (il loro quinto album in studio) rappresentò un punto di svolta per i Lucksmiths, dato che la band di Melbourne per la prima volta si era affacciata a uno studio di registrazione “serio” e si era messa al lavoro con il produttore Craig Pilkington per arricchire il proprio sound. Questo sarebbe stato il primo di tre album che i Lucksmiths avrebbero registrato agli Audrey Studios di Pilkington: “Naturaliste” del 2003 e “Warmer Corners” del 2005 completano quella triade che spesso è considerata come un periodo d’oro nella discografia della band. Originariamente pubblicato dalle etichette Candle Records (Australia), Drive-In Records (USA), Fortuna Pop! (UK) e Clover Records (Giappone), l’album, in vinile, è fuori catalogo da decenni.L’uscita non è marchiata solo Matinée Recordings  ma è co-release con la Lost and Lonesome Recording Company. —Indie for Bunnies